A Letter To My Grandfather

A family visit in Lolo’s house, located along the Philippine National Railway in Lupi, Camarines Sur.

Dear Lolo,

Words are not enough for me to comprehend the reality that you have truly left us. It was only 10 days ago, in your humble and cozy home, that I last visited you. Finally, since September 2011, I get to visit you in your home, the same way you did for our family. I will always remember you, I will always loved you. Even when you could barely stand and talk, your presence filled us with so much love. Tonight, God has called you to be with Him for eternity.

I asked God, why take you away from us now? But I know there is nothing I can do but trust that God’s timing is perfect. It may not make sense, but I know it will eventually be okay. His wisdom is beyond mine now, I have nothing else to do but acknowledge that He is in total control of my life.

For all the years that we could have spent more time together, I regret all of these. But I know, regardless of the passage of time, I will always be your “Brainy” granddaughter. In every moment we are together, you are always proud of my achievements no matter how small or big all of these came to be. I am crushed you will not be part of my university graduation in 2013 as you have promised, but I know you will always be part of me. You will smile from the heavens when I receive my diploma on the stage. My victory will be for you.

For the entire Estrella family that grieves for losing you, we all feel in our hearts that we have gained a guardian angel in God’s kingdom. The heavy rains have mourned with us today and showered you with grand welcome. The pain of your death is unimaginable, but we know that you no longer have to suffer the sickness and pain you endured all throughout the years. You are not in a better place, but only the best place that God has promised.

The coming days will not be easy, but the thought of God embracing you will strengthen us and keep us. You will pray for Lola, for your children, and your grandchildren. You will be our watcher and we will look forward in seeing you again in God’s perfect time.

I will miss you. Until that day, I will always pray for you. I love you so much.

Your Apo,

Nadine

About nadineestrella

A passionate leader. A driven learner. A life lover. I believe in God. I play hard, I work smart, I pay attention to details. I always try to see the beauty in life and the goodness in others. I love reading books, exploring places, and experimenting with food. I play different roles: a true friend, a loyal sister, a loving daughter, a faithful woman.

Leave a Reply

