Echo

Echo

A year ago, I said goodbye to a fluffy little friend of mine. He’s a dog, a perfectly adorable black chow-spitz I had as an early Christmas present. It seems like December 20, 2011 was  only yesterday, but looking back it also seems like ages ago. He died six days later in a pet hospital.

I feel all dog-lovers would agree how tragic losing a dog, even if you only owned him briefly. I remember we even got him his own baby cage and dog food before picking him up. Oh yes, there were two of them, but I chose him because he was all jumpy and I just could not resist those round black eyes staring back at me.We named him Echo, because “E” is the fifth letter of the alphabet and he is the fifth dog we had. He’s the cutest in my eyes.

Those first few days were a real experiment. Our family hasn’t got a dog in almost a year since Ziggy, our black Lab, died and we don’t know what kind of puppy food he likes. My sister even bought him two cute clothes that he worked so hard to get off after I bathed him. My parents had fun playing tug of war with him on his bed cloths. Everything was supposed to be fun. Alas, it was only a momentary bliss.

He was barely two months old and there he is fighting for his life. It pained me to see how weak and dehydrated he is.. The vet gave us updates on  his health progress–how well he was eating, and how many days will we have to wait before we can start his shots. I wasn’t able to visit him on Christmas day because the pet hospital is closed to customers.

But on the dawn of December 26, 2011, my brother received a call. Echo didn’t make it through the night. I went there myself and see him all wrapped up in a tiny box and green plastic. After paying for all the bills, mom and I went to the backyard to dig up Echo’s grave under the banana bush.

Here I am 365 days later, still thinking about Echo. I even dreamt about a full-sized Echo months ago, cry about him a few times in the past, and yes I miss my  dear dog. I hope he’s having a blast in doggy heaven with Rocky, Assunta, and Ziggy among other dogs. I know you’re watching over Chuck and Koko. Our entire family misses you. 🙂

 

Tags: , ,

About nadineestrella

A passionate leader. A driven learner. A life lover. I believe in God. I play hard, I work smart, I pay attention to details. I always try to see the beauty in life and the goodness in others. I love reading books, exploring places, and experimenting with food. I play different roles: a true friend, a loyal sister, a loving daughter, a faithful woman.

Leave a Reply

