Out of the nest and aiming high

The past 19 weeks is a blessing for me. The reality is far from what I have imagined myself to be. I am nearing the end of my third internship–my final requirement in the university, and I am this close to graduation. I admit I am excited for the things that will happen, for the adventures that await, and for all the other things that will challenge me more.

But I am also aware of the growing fears inside of me…a deadly poison of failures and rejections. No matter how many small victories achieved throughout the years, the fears of making mistakes and disappointing others (and ultimately disappointing oneself) can easily crush my afraid soul in an instant. 

Instead of spreading my wings and bravely venturing horizons, I am trapped in my own nest, entertaining “what-if” thoughts and still weighing the pros and cons of my options. Fears condition the mind of the impossible things, thus limiting the actions that one can do, and effectively cutting all possibilities of new triumphs. 

Such fears must come to an end. Now is the perfect time that I do it. All I need is to breath all the courage in, and exhale a positive and confident attitude out.

“I can do all things through God who strengthens me.” Yes, I am quoting Phil. 4:13 as a reminder that faith should always be bigger than my fears. God will always be with me. I can do it!

In reality, people make mistakes and will make mistakes, and people disappoint other people. A winning and brave attitude is needed to recover from all mistakes and disappointments to move forward and learn from. I need to tell myself I need not to be afraid in making mistakes, it only means I am trying to do something. I can do it!

I guess, it’s now time to spread those wings and aim high! 🙂

About nadineestrella

A passionate leader. A driven learner. A life lover. I believe in God. I play hard, I work smart, I pay attention to details. I always try to see the beauty in life and the goodness in others. I love reading books, exploring places, and experimenting with food. I play different roles: a true friend, a loyal sister, a loving daughter, a faithful woman.

Leave a Reply

